BBC radio 2

Did you hear our how to guides on Simon Mayo's Radio 2 Drivetime show?

You may have read about Howopia in The Telegraph?

How To Make Gluten And Dairy Free Graham Crackers

Your rating: None
If you love eating Graham crackers but are gluten or lactose intolerant, you don’t have to miss out anymore. Here is a simple Graham cracker recipe which doesn’t contain any gluten flour or dairy free products as well. It’s crispy enough to be used for a gluten free pie crusts or s’more snacks.
What you'll need: 
170 grams brown flour
170 grams tapioca flour
170 grams brown sugar
1 teaspoon bicarbonate soda
½ teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon fine sea salt
85 grams vegan butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 oz agave syrup
85 ml water
Put the flours, sugar, salt, baking soda and bicarbonate soda into a food processor and blend together. Add the vegan butter, vanilla and agave syrup, blend ingredients together until it’s a coarse texture.
Pour the water into the mixture, a little at a time until it comes together into a ball of dough. It should feel soft and slightly sticky. Put the dough in a bowl and cover. Let it sit for 30 minutes at room temperature to allow the ingredients to settle together.
Divide dough in half and place one half onto a baking sheet. Pat the dough down into a rectangle and place a piece of baking sheet over the patted down dough. The baking sheets will help to keep the dough moist while rolling so no need to flour dough.
Roll the rectangle dough out to at least ¼ inch thick and remove the baking sheet over the dough. Cut rectangle shapes out of the dough and prick surface with a toothpick or fork. Transfer unto a baking sheet on a baking tray. Repeat with the other half of dough.
Bake in a preheated oven at 160 degrees for 25 minutes or until brown and hard.
Let the crackers cool on a wire rack. You can now enjoy your Gluten and dairy free Graham crackers.
These gluten and dairy free Graham crackers can be made without a food processor, just mix all the ingredients well together. You can vary the flavours according to your taste, you can include one teaspoon of cinnamon to the ingredients if you want.
You can use cornstarch flour or your own blend of gluten free flour if you prefer.
You can sweeten with maple syrup.


Post new comment

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Featured writers

We have had a chat with a couple of our more experienced writers.

Find out more about their experiences and why they contribute to Howopia.

Spotlight on two writers.

Share this

How To guides

Howopia is a new website dedicated to bringing together a community of experts to create the most useful 'How To' guides, to help you to achieve almost anything.

Related links